Professional Service Agreement

New Minimum Wage Rates Now in Effect in 21 States

January 09, 2020

With a new year comes new minimum wage rates. As of January 1, 2020, the minimum wage increased in the following states: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, South Dakota, Vermont, and Washington.

Alaska.—$10.19 per hour.

Arizona.—$12 per hour.

Arkansas.—$10 per hour.

California.—$13 per hour for employees of employers with 26 or more employees.

For employees of employers with 25 or fewer employees, the minimum wage rate is $12 per hour.

Colorado.—$12 per hour.

Florida.—$8.56 per hour.

Illinois.—$9.25 per hour.

Maine.—$12 per hour.

Maryland.—$11 per hour.

Massachusetts.—$12.75 per hour.

Michigan.—$9.65 per hour.

Minnesota.—$10 per hour, for employees of large employers with an annual gross revenue of $500,000 or more.

For employees of smaller employers, the minimum wage is $8.15 per hour.

Missouri.—$9.45 per hour.

Montana.—$8.65 per hour.

New Jersey.—$11 per hour.

New Mexico.—$9 per hour.

New York.—$11.80 per hour; $13 per hour in Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties; and $15 per hour in New York City (Large employers, 12/31/2018; Small employers, 12/31/2019). The rate changes in New York are effective as of December 31, 2019.

For fast food workers, the minimum wage is $15 in New York City (12/31/2018) and $13.75 per hour in the rest of the state (12/31/2019).

Ohio.—$8.70 per hour.

South Dakota.—$9.30 per hour.

Vermont.—$10.96 per hour.

Washington.—$13.50 per hour.