Professional Service Agreement

Cook County, Illinois and Morristown, New Jersey Mandate Paid Sick Leave in 2017

October 10, 2016

The Cook County Board of Commissioners has approved an ordinance that will require employers in the county to provide employees with up to five days of paid sick leave each year. The requirement is effective July 1, 2017. Specifically, the Ordinance mandates that any employer with a principal place of business or doing business in Cook County must provide employees who have worked at least 80 hours in a 120-day period with paid sick leave of up to 40 hours in a 12-month period. Employees will earn one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked.

The Morristown Town Council has passed an ordinance, which will soon require all private employers to provide paid sick time to employees. The Ordinance goes into effect on January 11, 2017. Much like similar ordinances adopted by twelve other New Jersey municipalities, Morristown’s ordinance will require private employers with ten or more employees to provide 40 hours of paid sick leave during a calendar year. Employers with nine or fewer employees will only need to provide at least 24 hours of paid sick leave during a calendar year.